Moving On.

Leave a comment

May 16, 2012 by somerandombint

Image

We had a Lada this colour when I was small. But that’s another story…

Things are changing here at Bint Central. After 20 months in our current abode, Mr Bint and I find ourselves once again packing up our belongings and moving to a new home. Whilst it will make it more complicated to do some things, we’re both quite looking forward to being based in a more central location in the city, with better access to the hustle and bustle of the fabulous culture (and pubs!) Glasgow has to offer.

Of course, I hate moving. This will be the 7th time I’ve moved in five years, and the fourth home we’ve lived in together. Truth be told, we haven’t even unpacked all the boxes from last time. But although money is tight, and there are a million and one things to organise, this time at least we’ve only got to go to the other side of the city, and not 700 miles north from Ipswich to Glasgow. One of the best things about being “just the two of us” is that moving is another adventure, and a new home holds a whole new place to explore and get to know.

A blank canvas, all ready for us to make a mark on.

One of the good things is that the flat is a much better space for us to live in than the house we’re in at the moment. But it has it’s drawbacks – one less room means having to be ruthless and clearing out all the detritus I’ve accumulated over the years. Clothes that are three sizes too big, shoes that have lost their partners, and a thousand cables for long dead electronics. I fear my 20 year old tape recorder won’t make the cut, despite its sentimental value. It’s sparked me thinking about how things have changed for me, how different the last five years have been to the previous 26 (when I had had only four different addresses in two parts of the country). Five years have seen massive changes in my life, and in me, and having reached my 30s I find myself feeling my age at last – but in a positive way. For various reasons, my twenties felt rather topsy turvy, as though I were doing things in the wrong order. But now, I feel settled. I feel content with where I am, who I am, and what I’m doing. There are still a lot of things up in the air in terms of the specifics, but generally this move is another positive step in the right direction. When we first learned we would have to leave our current house, we were worried that we would find ourselves homeless. We battled with housing associations who couldn’t help us, private letting agents who refused to let to us without proof of an employer and a steady income – and yet at the same time we had a feeling that things would come right for us. They always have in the past, and this was to prove no different. Our dream flat, just the right size for the two of us (and the cat), in a lovely part of town, with a fantastic landlord (and a further exciting talking point which I can’t discuss here as it would be as good as writing the actual address!).

Of course all this moving means one thing to Oscar – “I’m in my box…”

With all this movement, new starts and clearing out, I’ve come back to here to assess what I do next. Blogging was something I started doing for no other reason that to have an outlet for my writing. I’ve never had a theme, an agenda or a purpose. It’s been useful in helping me hone my writing skills, and in keeping people updated with my progress. But it never was going to go anywhere, and that’s not changed. What has changed is my reasons for writing. Even Twitter doesn’t hold the attraction it once did to me. I still enjoy being part of discussion, and learning about things. But the format I use on this blog doesn’t really suit the format that I would like to be using. And there’s also the issue that this blog has been the subject of some very unwanted attention in the past, and no matter how often I change the theme, or how far down the posts list that goes, I can’t forget what happened. And I can’t change it either. All I can do is move on.

So whilst I won’t be abandoning this site altogether, I have spent this evening building myself a new safe have for my online thoughts. Tumblr seemed more suited for the more stream of consciousness posts that I’d like to share, and you can see what I’ve put so far here. I’ll warn you, it isn’t much. But the new style is reflective of the fact that I’ve grown bored of wordy posts and blogs which read like a newspaper column. The blogs which I enjoy reading most right now are the ones which are short snapshots of ideas and links.

I will still post here. I am certain there will still be issues which I want to talk about in more detail. I won’t abandon this blog altogether. If nothing else, it will always allow me to look back and see how far I’ve come, how much I’ve changed, and how much better things are now than they have ever been.

The best thing about moving, is you get choose what you take with you and what you’ll have no need for anymore, which means you appreciate the things you do love even more. And you have a whole new space to display them in.

Off we go…

Tell me what you're thinking...

