Beat the Heat – Back on Track

2

August 15, 2011 by somerandombint

Here we are again! After falling by the wayside, I have managed to climb back aboard the wagon, and we’re off on again on a trawl through my challenges!

Let’s get down to it straight away, with a positive picture:

One of our wedding presents was this very handy magnetic chalkboard, which was immediately put on one of our fridges. On his arrival for the wedding last week, my best mate Tim took the opportunity to make his mark on it. Sadly, I did have to rub it off the other day, but before I did I took a picture. The description is a reference to an internet song we were both extremely fond of as students, and which we used to sing at inopportune moments – this is how it goes:

A joyous tune indeed!

1. What have you done this week towards your goals?

To go for a walk once a week with my husband: This is still on track. It’s not how I thought it would be, but we are getting out and about. This week’s stroll was to the local railway station and back, instead of driving into town.

To do a good turn for someone every day: Struggling with this. I was so caught up in the wedding, it’s hard to get back into the swing of thinking about others. Also, because of the lack of money, we aren’t getting out and about as much as I would like, to mix things up a bit. However, any opportunity that presents itself is seized, and I suppose I could count the endless tea I make T when he’s working.

To write something every day: Not much happened with this one, for obvious reasons. But I’ve got a couple of writing projects which have unexpectedly presented themselves, and there’s nothing like a deadline for someone else to focus the mind on getting the words done.

To blog about things that make me smile: Had a wobble on this one in the early hours, but I think I can count writing about improvements I’ve made to my conduct as something to smile about!

To keep a tidy mind, and a tidy house: This one is FLYING! House is almost spotless since friends left (they helped by doing all the washing up before they went!), and it’s making it easy to stay on top of things. I’m feeling really positive, with lots of projects on the go, lots of good jobs to apply for, and general feeling of well-being and positivity coming from being newly married. I just need to get on top of my washing pile, and we’re all sorted!

2. What did you do to make yourself feel fabulous? Ooh, not much this week. I don’t really need much of a boost at the moment. Looking at the third finger of my left hand on a daily basis makes me feel fabulous at the moment!

3. If your house was on fire, and you could grab ONE thing (outside of people and your computer/laptop, they are all out) what would it be? Not including my cat (I’m a bit paranoid about this, I’m worried about him panicking and running off in the event. I’d put him in a duvet cover and get him out of the house that way), I don’t know what I’d grab. There’s a lot of knicknacks in my house that I’ve collected over the years from friends and relatives who are no longer here, which I would be devastated to lose. But in reality, it would be a book – my signed Stephen Fry autobiography possibly, or maybe my copy of “The House at Pooh Corner”. Which ever caught my eye first – I’ve got a lot of books I couldn’t bear to part with.

4. Tell us about your blog. Treat it like a book, what’s the story so far?

Hmm. I’d wanted to blog for a while,  but didn’t have the subject. In the end, this began, I’m ashamed to say, as an outlet for issues I encountered in online communities. Not quite as a way of having a right of reply, but almost. It grew into a series of comments about random topics I encountered, and ended up as a way for me to feel creatively satisfied. In its most recent incarnation, it’s an escape from the debating I engage in online, and it’s my touchstone with my “real life”, to remind me not to place too much stock in what happens on a computer screen. This is my happy place, where I can talk about nice things, and make other people smile.

Fun Question: Tell us an embarrassing story about yourself!

On my 28th birthday, I got a little tipsy, and decided it would be a good idea to streak around the carpark outside my house, in front of all my friends. It was fun, and it made people laugh. But when I think about my bits wobbling in the twilight, I want to curl up and die!

So there’s the week in the heat! If I can, I’ll do some catch up posts this week, just to make it fair. Meanwhile, I’ve shared my embarrassing story, how about you do the same?!

2 thoughts on “Beat the Heat – Back on Track

  1. Becks says:

    tee hee hee streaking! I think you’re the first to admit to that so far!

    I have your pod arm band ready to post as soon as I can get out of the house ?

    Congratulations again 🙂

  2. Am sooo sorry – I only just got this comment. This is the problem with approving comments without reading them first!

    Thanks for the congrats – and OOOOH for arm band. No rush though, if you’re anything like me things will still be in disarray after the move. We’ve still got stuff in boxes nearly a year on!

Tell me what you're thinking...

Flickr Photos

Goodreads

wordpress stats
