Beat the Heat & Beat the Blues

2

July 11, 2011 by somerandombint

Weight Wars
Well, as if by magic, we’re onto another Beat the Heat catch up. Because I’ve come to the challenge late, I’ve got some catching up to do! So we will get onto talking about something else tomorrow, I promise. Not sure what yet, but let’s wait and see. One of the main problems I’ve got at the moment is that there’s only one computer in this house and it’s shared between two busy online people. So I have to take advantage when I can.

So, without further ado, here’s what I’ve been up to.

My positive pic, is one to remind me of how much I love my other half. Wedding planning can be incredibly stressful, and so it’s important to keep thinking back as to why we’re doing this in the first place. I love him very much, I can’t imagine a life without him. He’s interesting, intelligent, funny, clever, handsome, and wise beyond his years. I can’t wait to be able to call myself his wife.

1. What progress have you made on your goals this week?

Well, not masses, to be honest. But then I did only set myself goals a few days ago! The writing is going well, and it’s giving me something to do in the evenings, rather than sitting watching the television. I’ve found the good turns easy enough to come by as well – for example a good friend needed someone to talk to, and so I made sure I called her and let her vent about her problems. The house has been blitzed, and so now it’s a case of keeping it tidy. We haven’t managed to go walking yet, mostly because we’ve been busy tidying the house, but that’s something we have planned for tomorrow – if the weather is fine. As for the blogging, well sometimes it’s hard to keep positive – especially with all the negativity going on in the news at the moment. There have been several times I wanted to blow my top. But I’ve resisted. And thinking of happy things to write here is helping to keep me positive. In a way, it’s a good experience for writing – even when I don’t want to write, I almost force myself to be happy, because I’ve made a commitment and it’s important to me to stick to it.

2. What did you do to make yourself feel fabulous?

Today, it was with a glorious Lush bath! It’s one of my most guilty pleasures – I am a complete Lush addict! My favourite bath bomb is called “Twilight” – not because I’ve got a penchant for novels aimed at hormonal teens, but because it’s perfect for a bath before bed, as it contains actual Ovaltine! It smells divine, makes my skin smooth, and turns the water a lovely shade of purple. Today’s bath, however, came courtesy of The Comforter, which is a bubble bar. It smells of raspberry ripple ice cream, and gives plenty of lovely bubbles to sink into! I’m so addicted to Lush goodies, that I no longer dare go into a shop unaccompanied. Last Christmas, I managed to spend £50 on various bits and bobs – although that IS justified, as they give you lots of goodies for free! Not only that, but they’re a very ethical company, so you can enjoy a soak knowing that you haven’t contributed to the world’s problems.

3. Did you have a moment in your life where everything changed for you, an epiphany moment, or has it happened gradually?

Gradually, I think. There are, of course, pivotal moments in life which, with hindsight, change everything forever. But there has been no Road to Damascus moment for me, suggesting I need to change my life or anything. I think it’s more to do with the fact that I am about to make a massive change to my life, and so it seems as good a time as any to look at other areas I’d like to change, and see if I can improve myself in other ways as well.

4. What made you get involved with the Beat The Heat challenge?

The honest answer is, that I thought it would give me the drive to keep going with this blog. Because I decided to step away from writing about current affairs, it makes it harder to find things to write about. I don’t have a steady stream of events happening everyday for me to comment on. And sometimes I wonder why I should bother writing about things which most people aren’t going to be very interested in. But then, I think, blogging should be as much about the person writing, as any kind of audience. I write because I want to write, not because I want to seem important, or be listened to, or because I have something to prove. And writing online as part of a blogging community is a lovely way to be inspired and to make new friends.

5. What is your favourite TV Show at the moment?

It’s a toss up between three at the moment. Thanks to the wonders of digital television, I’ve had the chance to catch up with New Tricks again. I utterly adore this show – the characters, the humour. The fact that the actors are some of the best in the UK is just a bonus. I have a real love of whodunnits – I used to be an Inspector Morse fanatic. It’s gentle, but taxing at the same time. Perfect for settling down with before bed. Add to that All Creatures Great and Small (my favourite since I was 8 years old – I nearly became a vet because of it!), and a couple of episodes of Man v Food, with the adorable Adam Richmond, and you’ve got my perfect night in!

So there we go! Good luck to everyone else taking part in the challenge – I’m off now to catch up with everything you’ve been doing in the last week! And special congrats to Bec over at Weight Wars who successfully completed the British 10k run in London yesterday. I ran 5k last summer, and it nearly killed me! So to managed twice that… wow! I take my hat off to you!

2 thoughts on “Beat the Heat & Beat the Blues

  1. Becks says:

    Thanks so much for the shout out, I love all the support I’ve been getting 🙂 I’m a huge Man V Food fan too!

  2. Kris says:

    I have got to try some scented bath stuff for relaxing – I have a lovely big tub, and except for a quick soak after a run, I never use the darn thing! It sounds heavenly though – and hte scents sound yummy!

    Good luck on your goals.

Tell me what you're thinking...

Flickr Photos

Goodreads

wordpress stats
